[cello left]
Welcome to the Web Page of...


[cello right]


[blue dot]Born in Colorado Springs, USA in 1964 of musical parents, Johann Sebastian Paetsch began his violoncello studies with his father, Günther Paetsch at the age of five, giving his first public recital when he was only six. His rapid progress of chamber music started in early childhood. In his large family of nine, almost the entire chamber music repertoire for strings from duo until nonet was worked on and performed many times in concert.

[blue dot]He studied at Butler University with Arkady Orlovsky, at the Yale University with Aldo Parisot and at the "Musikhochschule Lübeck" with David Geringas. He took part in Master classes and Summer Courses with Yo-Yo Ma, Rostropovitch, Janos Starker, and Mischa Maisky. As a member of the "Yale Cellists" he took part in recording two world-wide famous CD's.

[blue dot]A graduate of Yale University, Johann Sebastian Paetsch is well known for his commitment to the cello's vast chamber and instrumental repertoire. He tours widely with the Piano Trio "Trio Kairos", a partnership that has produced recordings. Paetsch's collaboration with numerous prominent artists of the quality of Gidon Kremer, the Wilanow Quartet and Eduard Brunner have yielded an extensive reassessment of the Romantic and late Contemporary instrumental repertoire, in particular the Messiaen "Quartet for the End of Time". Since 1988, Johann Sebastian Paetsch has already championed all Six Suites for Violoncello Solo by Bach in two evenings.

[blue dot]As a soloist who has appeared in many major music capitals of the world, he shows no hesitation in performing the concertos of Shostakovich, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky as well as the standard repertoire. He has played the Haydn and Dvorak Cello Concertos, among others in Japan, in the USA and in Europe. His collaboration with his sister Michaela Paetsch in the many performances of the Brahms Double Concerto for violin and cello took place in the USA, Canada and Germany. He played the Schumann Concerto in California and the Saint-Saens Concerto with the Orchester della Svizzera Italiana. He interpreted Tchaikovsky's "Rococo Variations" in the USA. His most recent release includes the Television recording of the Haydn Cello Concerto with the "Solisti della Svizzera Italiana."

[blue dot]As recipient of numerous prizes and awards, Johann Sebastian Paetsch was awarded the top prize in the Emmanuel Feuermann Competition and in the Young Musicians Foundation Competition in Los Angeles. He was successful in the ARD Competition in Munich, in the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow and the Rostropovitch Competition held in Paris.

[blue dot]Johann Sebastian Paetsch enjoys a distinguished international career as one of the foremost up-and-coming cellists of his generation. Renowned not only for his technical prowess but also for the gorgeous depth of tone and profound musicality of his playing, Mr. Paetsch is loved by audiences, critics and fellow musicians the world over. He plays a cello made in 1730 by Matteo Gofriller. Since 1992, Johann Sebastian Paetsch has been 1st Solo-cellist of the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana in Lugano, Switzerland.

[blue dot]Johann Sebastian Paetsch -- Repertoire
The following works for cello and orchestra, cello solo, cello and violin and cello and piano comprise partially Mr. Paetsch's repertoire, and as such are always available for Booking.

[blue dot]Cello and Orchestra

* Boccherini - Concerto in B-flat

* Brahms - Double Concerto in a-minor 

* Couperin - Pieces en Concert

* Dvorak - Concerto in b-minor

* Haydn - Concertos in C, D-Major

* Monn - Concerto g-minor

* Popper - Hungarian Rhapsody

* Prokofiev - Sinfonia Concertante

* Saint-Saens - Concerto in a-minor

* Schuman - Concerto in a-minor

* Shostakovich - Concerto No. 1

* Tartini - Concerto in A-Major

* Tchaikovsky - Rococo Variations

* Vivaldi - Concerto in a-minor

[blue dot]Cello Solo

Composer         Work                          Length 

* Bach           Suite No. 1 G-Major           20'

                 Suite No. 2 d-minor           31'

                 Suite No. 3 C-Major           32'

                 Suite No. 4 Eb-Major          24'

                 Suite No. 5 c-minor           23'

                 Suite No. 6 D-Major           22'

* Cassado        Suite for Solo Cello          18' 

* Crumb          Solo Sonata                   11' 

* Hindemith      Sonata Opus 25, No. 3         10' 

* Kodaly         Sonata Opus 8                 32' 

* Mayuzumi       "Bunraku"                     10' 

* Reger          Suite No. 3 a-minor           14' 

* Ysaye          Solo Cello Sonata

[blue dot]Cello and Violin

* Haydn          Passacaglia

* Kodaly         Duo for Violin and Cello 

* Martinu        Duo for Violin and Cello

* Ravel          Sonata for Violin and Cello

[blue dot]Cello and Piano

Composer         Work                           Length 
* Beethoven Sonata Opus 5 No. 1 g-minor 16' Sonata Opus 5 No. 2 D-Major 18' Sonata Opus 69 A-Major 25' Sonata Opus 102 No. 1 C-Major 15' Sonata Opus 102 No. 2 D-Major 22' * Boccherini Sonata in A-Major 12' * Brahms Sonata No. 1 Opus 38 e-minor 22' Sonata No. 2 Opus 99 F-Major 23' * Chopin Sonata 20' Polonaise Brillant 8' * Debussy Sonata d-minor 13' * De Falla, M. Suite Populaire Espagnole * Franck Sonata A-Major 27' * Francoeur Sonata in E-Major * Locatelli Sonata D-Major 16' * Martinu Variations on a Theme by Rossini 8' * Mendelssohn Sonata No. 1 Opus 45 22' Sonata No. 2 Opus 58 20' * Prokofiev Sonata Opus 119 25' * Rachmaninoff Sonata 22' * Schnittke Sonata 18' * Shostakovich Sonata Opus 40 25' * Schubert Sonata a-minor "Arpeggione" 23' * Schumann Five Pieces in Folk * Strauss Sonata Opus 6 28' * Valentini Sonata E-Major 12' * Vivaldi Sonata e-minor 8'


Please send email to
[Send Email]

This page is provided as a free service by webmaster,
and by the Internet Cello Society.