Eva Janzer

Eva Czako Janzer was born in India and studied cello at the Academy of Music in Budapest where she received a Diploma of Virtuosity. Twice winner of the Geneva Competition, she had a brilliant career as soloist and chamber musician. She and her husband, famed violinist Georges Janzer, were members of the Grumiaux Trio and Vegh Quartet. She taught at the University of Hanover before coming to the United States where she and her husband joined the faculty of Indiana University in 1972. She died in 1978.

The Eva Janzer Memorial Cello Center, a member of the American Cello Council, was established shortly after cellist Eva Janzer's death. The purposes of the center are to: 1) honor the memory of a great artist and a much loved teacher by providing support for cello performance, teaching, and research at Indiana University, across the nation, and throughout the world, 2) honor the members of the cello community through the awarding of the "Chevalier du Violoncelle" or "Grande Dame du Violoncelle" Award, 3) to provide scholarships for outstanding cello students, 4) to work closely with other organizations having similar purposes, such as the American Cello Council and the American String Teachers Association.

Since 1979, honorees of the "Chevalier du Violoncelle" or "Grande Dame du Violoncelle Award" have included: Pierre Fournier, Bernard Greenhouse, Raya Garbousova, Margaret Rowell, Fritz Magg, Aldo Parisot, Antonio Janigro, Zara Nelsova, Gabor Rejto, Samuel Mayes, Eleanor Slatkin, Harvey Shapiro, Paul Tortelier, Lev Aronson, Jacques Francais, Janos Schulz, and Shirley Treple, Samuel Mayes, Eva Heinitz, Richard Kapucinski, Laszlo Varga, Daniel Saidenberg, David Soyer, Etienne Vatelot, Erling Blondal-Bengtsson, Eleonore Schoenfeld, Takayori Atsumi, Jules Eskin, Martin Ormandy, David N. Baker, Lawrence Block, Robert La Marchina, Louis Potter, George Neikrug, and Uzi Wiesel.

The Janzer Conference is always held on a weekend in the Fall and lasts only a few days, but is jam-packed with enriching activities and warm fellowship.

The Janzer Conference was held in 1997 from September 12-14. Noted cellists and teachers gathered in Bloomington, Indiana at the School of Music. They came to celebrate the outstanding careers in cello performance and pedagogy of three distinguished cellists and to celebrate past honorees.

The conference opened Friday evening (September 12) with a tribute recital to the hundredth anniversary of the birthday of legendary cellist Gaspar Cassado. Daniel Grosgurin, Professor at the Geneva Conservatory, offered a lecture recital featuring the music of Cassado.

This year's honorees included Guy Fallot, Professor of Cello at the Geneva Conservatory of Music, Mihaly Virizlay, Professor at Peabody Conservatory and Principal Cellist of the Baltimore Symphony, and Alan Schulman, distinguished cellist, composer, and conductor formerly of the NBC Symphony and Stuyvesant and Kreiner String Quartets. Alan Schulman was a founder, president, board member, and editor of the newsletter for the New York Cello Society.

The Eva Janzer Home Page can be accessed on the World Wide Web at http://www.music.indiana.edu/som/ejmccf/

Return Home